Montana's Literature Prize
 — Innovative Danish

Montana has been celebrating Danish literature for many years by highlighting and honouring the works of some of the very best contemporary authors in the country. This year's celebration and award show will take place at Informations Forsamlingshus on March 21th, 2024.

Buy ticket

Sparking conversation  and renewal

The six nominated books for Montana's Literature Prize 2024 are innovative and unique. This is a requirement for being considered for the award. They all make striking conversational partners - or starting points for conversations. The latter is not a formally adopted requirement but a side benefit that comes with the requirement for renewal.

The nominees

Mathilde Walter Clark — Det blinde øje
C. Y. Frostholm — Til den ven jeg aldrig har kendt
Christina Hesselholdt — Til lyden af sin egen tromme
Sine Palmbech — Global sex Hvad sexarbejdere ved om kærlighed og kapitalisme
Jens Smærup SørensenEvigt i tiden
Peter-Clement Woetmann — Blå koral: tys tys dollar

About the prize

Montana's Literature Prize was established in 2006 by the Danish newspaper Dagbladet Information. The prize is sponsored by Montana Furniture and amounts to DKK 100,000.

Each year, Montana's Literature Prize is awarded to a Danish author of current literature who is innovative within their genre, or who manages to portray reality in a new and surprising way. The award can be given to fiction publications, collections of essays, non-fiction books, biographies, and comics.

For the 2024 award ceremony, the committee that select the books and appointed the recipient of the award consists of: Kamilla Löfström, Tue Andersen Nexø, Bodil Skovgaard Nielsen, Erik Skyum-Nielsen, and Anita Brask Rasmussen.

The winner will be presented on March 21th, 2024, in connection with the big awards party in Informations Forsamlingshus, where you also have the chance to meet and see all the nominated authors read from their works. 

In collaboration with Dagbladet Information and the Royal Danish Library

Previous winner: Nanna Storr-Hansen

Montana’s Literature Prize 2022 went to Nanna Storr-Hansen for her poetry collection Bøgetid (Birch Time). The work’s dizzying nature perspective and completely unusual tone of language were highlighted by the committee at the award ceremony.

Nanna Storr-Hansen (b. 1991) has published several novels, short stories, and essays. Her writing often focuses on themes of identity, belonging, family dynamics, and the power of nature.

Fotographer: Martin Johanssen, 2021

It is as if Nanna Storr-Hansen’s poems have been here since the Iron Age – and were born yesterday. And will be born again tomorrow.

The prize committee